159th Guards Aviation Regiment

159th Public Forum => Tech Support => Topic started by: 159th_Archer on December 30, 2018, 10:16:14 AM

Title: DCS simple radio standalone thread
Post by: 159th_Archer on December 30, 2018, 10:16:14 AM
As it's been mentioned a few times, I thought a dedi-thread for SRS would be useful. I know little about it as yet -anyone here any experience of it?

As I'm shortly scooting off to NZ for most of January, I won't be looking too heavily at it unless anyone convinces me/us that it will be simple to install and use.

Link below to DCS thread;

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=169387 (https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=169387)
Title: Re: DCS simple radio standalone thread
Post by: 159th_Fusion on December 30, 2018, 11:17:38 AM
It can certainly wait until you get back.

There are pros and cons...

Con:
As far as I know you canít communicate until youíre in cockpit with the radios turned on and on the right channel (pre-agreed between us).

Would need to map as many channels as youíd want to be able to transmit to (see below).

Pro:
We have loads of channels available in-game and using the radio is more immersive.

I think the Grim Reapers have a version that gives more instantaneously available channels to transmit to (think all the channels we used to have in TS that you could whisper to).

If we used discord as our meeting place, we could do away with TS. Thus giving zero cost.
Title: Re: DCS simple radio standalone thread
Post by: kunz on January 09, 2019, 02:31:44 AM
Switch over to Simple Radio guys, it is much more immersive. As Fusion says, if you use Simple Radio and Discord, no need for Teamspeak and thus zero cost for communications.

It is a pain to setup, well, at least for me, but once done, it is very nice to use.
Title: Re: DCS simple radio standalone thread
Post by: 159th_Jojo on January 09, 2019, 08:10:37 PM
I think in future when some may want to fly in modules such as the coming F14 and others that you can multi crew having intercom channels via the radios would be very useful. Iíve downloaded it but not given it a proper go yet but I think it would bring a new dimension to the flying experience. I donít know much about discord though. Do we have an account?
Title: Re: DCS simple radio standalone thread
Post by: 159th_Axman on January 10, 2019, 12:28:13 AM
Time and effort, there always seems to be other priorities at hand. However, I promise I will try and set it up and test on a MP server that's using it.

As for Discord, I have no idea if we have a 'thingy' set up.
Title: Re: DCS simple radio standalone thread
Post by: kunz on January 10, 2019, 05:19:43 AM
You'll have a Discord, I'm on it....   8)

https://discord.gg/VArRzru

Title: Re: DCS simple radio standalone thread
Post by: 159th_Axman on January 10, 2019, 06:03:40 PM
Many thanks Kunz, highly appreciated!

If you could change the title to 159th_Guards_Aviation_Regiment, or 159th GAR for short, that would be fantastic!

Cheers,

Ax
Title: Re: DCS simple radio standalone thread
Post by: kunz on January 10, 2019, 07:55:11 PM
Oh, I didn't create the discord. Pappavis did. I just joined it  ;)

I think Papps has the rights to change the title I guess
Title: Re: DCS simple radio standalone thread
Post by: 159th_Axman on January 10, 2019, 11:07:10 PM
I've tried, but can't access the server settings menu. But hey, no worries Kunz, that makes sense.
Title: Re: DCS simple radio standalone thread
Post by: 159th_Axman on March 24, 2019, 09:57:30 PM
How do I hide this SRS dialogue box?

Cheers,

(http://i.imgur.com/lZHNn3j.png) (https://imgur.com/lZHNn3j)
Title: Re: DCS simple radio standalone thread
Post by: 159th_Fusion on March 24, 2019, 10:52:00 PM
Oh I donít know buddy - I donít get that.

Must be a setting for it....somewhere...
Title: Re: DCS simple radio standalone thread
Post by: 159th_Axman on March 25, 2019, 02:37:11 AM
There is no option to remove that AFAIK. Will reinstall SRS and see how it goes.

EDIT: Found it on the help screen - "DCS In-game SRS Overlay
SRS has an optional DCS in-game overlay - to toggle use Left Ctrl + Left Shift + ESC. This will toggle through various states including hidden. The position and visibily state are automatically saved."