Author Topic: New RAM  (Read 152 times)

159th_Ajax

  • Command
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 45
New RAM
« on: July 10, 2018, 10:16:35 PM »
Question: Does RAM sticks need to be added in pairs?

I ordered more RAM and when I went to install it I discovered one slot is inaccessible (oversized cpu cooling fan). So I swapped out the 2x4GB pairs with the new 2x8GB pairs and inserted a single 4GB stick in the remaining slot. The system correctly says I have 20GB but then in parentheses it says 16GB usable. Does that sound right?

159th_Xeno

  • WingCo
  • Newbie
  • ****
  • Posts: 25
Re: New RAM
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2018, 11:26:35 PM »
Ajax... Memory doesn't have to be installed in pairs, but it is recommended in pretty much any modern motherboard as this is what enables Dual Channel mode which can (under some circumstances) dramatically increase performance.  The 16gb usable means that the other 4gb is being utilized by your operating system.  I recommend that you try running your games with it as you have it installed right now, then remove the single stick and see which one works best. 

159th_Ajax

  • Command
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 45
Re: New RAM
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2018, 11:42:00 PM »
Thx Xeno. I'll use this setup for awhile then take the odd stick out.