Author Topic: 2.5 first shots  (Read 2340 times)

159th_Archer

  • Forum Administrator
  • Sochi VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
2.5 first shots
« on: January 31, 2018, 07:38:16 PM »
Took a few just knocking about looking at 2.5 -looks stunning at times. I flew fire on the water (which looked great in 1.5.8 never mind 2.5...) and dropped cargo onto the Moskva cruiser then flew around her whilst all hell let loose. Mesmerising it was as shells, missiles, water. sun and the kitchen sink flew around my head. Unbelievable.





Here, I am messing about with what still appears to be a flawed troop-transport in game option. It kind of worked but ended up crashing DCS -and me my Hip...



Night/dark flying looks so much better -notice street lighting amongst other bits.




159th_Viper

  • Forum Administrator
  • Hangar Rat
  • *****
  • Posts: 38
Re: 2.5 first shots
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2018, 07:41:40 PM »
Stunning indeed!

What is your gamma setting Arch?

159th_Archer

  • Forum Administrator
  • Sochi VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
Re: 2.5 first shots
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2018, 07:55:59 PM »
My gamma is 2.2 as it was after installing it -below is a screen of my settings, of which the only changes I made is to up the tree dist over what it started at.

My system is -if it helps- Intel I7 4790k cpu @4.00ghz, 16 Gb RAM with Nvid GF gtx980.

Any recommendations on possible adjustments to be made with the other un-touched bits-n-bobs?!


159th_Viper

  • Forum Administrator
  • Hangar Rat
  • *****
  • Posts: 38
Re: 2.5 first shots
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2018, 08:02:19 PM »
The ED vid I posted was made by Glowing Amraam and his gamma setting is at 1.6 and that looked bloody spectacular as per the vid footage. Was wondering if you adjusted as well as yours also looked marvelous.

In any event, three-quarters installed so I'll tinker later - always loved the eye-candy!

Also, you're running a NVidia card so disable MSAA as you have and run AA through the NVidia control panel settings - apparently helps a lot with FPS/jaggies.

There's a couple more titbits of tweaks floating about  -I'll see if I can find them again and post them up.

Oh yes, word has it that trees are now collidable, yes? Goodness knows we have been waiting decades for that lol

159th_Archer

  • Forum Administrator
  • Sochi VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
Re: 2.5 first shots
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2018, 08:05:47 PM »
yes, trees are pretty -and death to boot...

In NTTR they kill, and I ran my A-Toad into a line of conifers to test today in 2.5.

Toad 0 Conifers 1...

159th_Viper

  • Forum Administrator
  • Hangar Rat
  • *****
  • Posts: 38
Re: 2.5 first shots
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2018, 08:08:42 PM »
Pity that A.I. are not affected yet. Hopefully fixed soon.

Mako

  • PublicMember
  • YPV Master Brewer
  • *
  • Posts: 322
Re: 2.5 first shots
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2018, 08:31:28 PM »

Have I missed an updater or is it just the Beta versions that are currently being updated?

159th_Viper

  • Forum Administrator
  • Hangar Rat
  • *****
  • Posts: 38
Re: 2.5 first shots
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2018, 08:34:02 PM »

Have I missed an updater or is it just the Beta versions that are currently being updated?

2.5 Open-Beta:

https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.com/en/downloads/world/beta/

I assume it updates from 1.8 Open-Beta but people are experiencing issues with the servers updating etc etc so if you have the bandwidth/data allowance probably easier just to download from scratch as per link.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2018, 08:35:39 PM by 159th_Viper »

Mako

  • PublicMember
  • YPV Master Brewer
  • *
  • Posts: 322
Re: 2.5 first shots
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2018, 08:35:47 PM »

Just seen the same - ignore my ramblings!

159th_Viper

  • Forum Administrator
  • Hangar Rat
  • *****
  • Posts: 38
Re: 2.5 first shots
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2018, 08:51:11 PM »
Oh yes here it is:

Another tip is to delete your shader cache and allow the sim to rebuild the shaders again.

To do so navigate to  "..\Saved Games\DCS\metaShaders" folder and either rename it or delet it entirely. Run a mission for every map and it should look better/on par with release vid.

159th_Viper

  • Forum Administrator
  • Hangar Rat
  • *****
  • Posts: 38
Re: 2.5 first shots
« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2018, 08:55:44 PM »
Also, remove the Saved Games\DCS\Config\options.lua file and set up your graphics settings from scratch if updating from 1.5.8 to 2.5

159th_Viper

  • Forum Administrator
  • Hangar Rat
  • *****
  • Posts: 38
Re: 2.5 first shots
« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2018, 09:03:47 PM »
Another one:

Navigate to the Saved Games\DCS.openbeta\ and delete the fxo folder.

159th_Archer

  • Forum Administrator
  • Sochi VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
Re: 2.5 first shots
« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2018, 09:43:04 PM »
Thx for the tips Vipes. FR is staying much the same with any of the (smallish) changes I am trying so far. I am getting the odd graphical errors but far less than those I saw in 1.5.8.

Have put the trees to max and no change in FR seen.

Only other annoyance is jaggies associated with shadows -mostly at distance it seems. Not a real mess to look at, but it would be nice if they weren't there...

Mako

  • PublicMember
  • YPV Master Brewer
  • *
  • Posts: 322
Re: 2.5 first shots
« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2018, 09:45:45 PM »


Boom

Need to have a play with the settings but... sexy!

159th_Viper

  • Forum Administrator
  • Hangar Rat
  • *****
  • Posts: 38
Re: 2.5 first shots
« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2018, 09:50:38 PM »
Hot damn I think the Combined Arms module is the first I am going to be firing up!

That and the Kamov......that ground needs hugging!